Dedicated to Maya Angelou

Another prolific writer has passed away. Maya Angelou has written well-known works such as the memoir I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, and is well known for her poetry and her brutal honesty. Although I’ve read and admired her poetry, I only recently “discovered” her as the incredible woman whose traumatic past influenced her to become a voice for women; especially for African American women.

Earlier this year I read a quote of hers posted in front of my son’s fourth grade classroom. It resonated with me and drenched me with its wisdom. In a twist of irony, later that afternoon I decided to break open one of the Oprah magazines I was behind in reading and discovered an interview with Ms. Angelou inside its pages. If you’re the type to believe in signs, then that was one for sure. I’m still trying to figure out what it means. 🙂 Now fast forward two months and this author’s name has been plastered across Facebook, unfortunately because of her demise.

Her famous quotes include:

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

“Never make someone a priority when all you are to them is an option.”

“If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. Don’t complain.”

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.”

I’m very glad I “discovered” her. I’m including one of her poems. If you don’t know much about her, this is a good resources: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maya_Angelou

Caged Bird

by Maya Angelou

A free bird leaps

on the back of the wind

and floats downstream

till the current ends

and dips his wing

in the orange sun rays

and dares to claim the sky.

But a bird that stalks

down his narrow cage

can seldom see through

his bars of rage

his wings are clipped

and his feet are tied

so he opens his throat to sing.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dedicated to Maya Angelou

  1. Thank you, Kim. Well done. My granddaughter put this same poem, one of Maya’s best, on FB this morning and I shared it on mine. Would that I could write one-tenth as well. The world has just lost one of its elements.

Leave a Reply

