How do you get a writer’s butt to the top of a hill?

(Roz here)

 

As anyone who’s read my debut novel Bob at the Lake knows, I’m a very reluctant exerciser. Squabbles with Bob (the ghost who lives with me), Finger Lakes wines, and homemade cookies are my pastimes of choice and it takes a lot to levitate my (somewhat oversized, I admit) butt out of a chair to work up a sweat. Luckily, though, I live in a house surrounded by hills, and they provide an amazing workout anytime I want one.

 

The only thing that pushes my butt up those hills is music. Hard, driving music. This morning, motivated by an article about the work habits of creative people and stunned to see how many writers include vigorous workouts in their lives, I’ve decided to goose up my hillwalking routine. That means, of course, that I have to goose up my music.

 

For fun, I thought I’d share some of the hyper-pumping songs I’ve added to my new Playlist entitled: “Butt up Hill.” (Bob hates this music. He can be an old fuddy-duddy sometimes. He’d rather I work out to the tunes of Irving Berlin or George Gershwin. Don’t get me wrong–I love Bob’s musical selections. They’re just not going to achieve my exercise mission: ‘butt up hill.’)

 

So here you go: Five musical selections guaranteed to push your heinie up a steep incline…

 

1) Kenny Loggins, “Footloose”

 

2) Bay City Rollers, “Saturday Night”

 

3) Lady GaGa, “The Edge of Glory”

 

4) Cast of Glee version, “Party All the Time”

 

5) Tina Turner, “The Best”

 

I’d love to get any reader recommendations for songs that might fire up a reluctant workout queen to put on her sneakers and hit the hill. Please add them below or join me on Roz Murphy Author on Facebook. I look forward to checking out your suggestions!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “How do you get a writer’s butt to the top of a hill?

  1. armenpogharian

    My primary exercise is swimming (I swam in college), which doesn’t lend itself well to listening to music. I’ve swum in pools with underwater speakers, but the water, breathing (which I find rather important), and the general rhythm of swimming don’t make for a good listening environment. Actually, getting a song stuck in your head during a set can be rather annoying. On the rare occasions when I run/walk or bike I put my iPod on random and skip any slow or classical songs that come up.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Armen. All exercise is good exercise, right? As long as we get our hearts pumping a bit…

Leave a Reply

