Wild Women Authors is pleased to welcome author Sandra Dailey and heroine Lacey Carlyle

author pic__Dailey - Copy TwicetheTrouble_w7606_300

Kat asked me to post this for her:

 

Good morning, all! Happy twenty-four hours post Mother’s Day. We had a peaceful day, filled with love and honor and hope you all did as well.  We’re going to begin today’s visit with an excerpt from our guest:

 Alex’s footsteps sounded on the wooden planks, but she didn’t turn around. She was too embarrassed. He sat on the corner of the dock with his back against the rail post, facing her right side.

“If you’re thinking of jumping in the lake to end it all, let me know in advance.” He stretched out his legs and crossed his ankles. “These shoes set me back a couplehundred bucks. I’d want a chance to take them off before I dive in after you. There’s also my wallet and cell phone to consider.”

Alex always could make her smile.

“I’ve never heard Superman complain about having his cape dry-cleaned,” she replied. “I’ve never seen Batman ask for time to remove his utility belt. The Incredible Hulk never asks for a safety pin. If you’re going to be a hero, you’ve got to be tough.”

          Alex’s eyes widened. “So that’s who you’ve been dating since I’ve been gone.”

With that delightful excerpt, Wild Women Authors is pleased to welcome author Sandra Dailey and heroine Lacey Carlyle from Twice the Trouble a new release from the Wild Rose Press. 

Where are you from, Lacey? I was born, raised and currently live in Indian Lakes, Florida. 

Tell us a bit about Twice the Trouble. The story actually started thirteen years ago. My boyfriend, Alex and I had fallen in love. Against my objections, he joined the Navy to start a future for us. Now, the years have passed without a word from him. I’ve struggled to build a small farm and home for myself and my two children. When the land I’ve leased is sold to a developer, I find out it now belongs to Alex. I’m desperate to hold on to it.

What did you think the first time you saw Alex?  In that first minute, I nearly fainted in the middle of his office floor. He’d changed so much. The carefree country boy I remembered had turned into a cynical, calculating, business man.

What was your second thought? After looking a little closer, I realized that he hadn’t changed that much at all, but he’d suffered and struggled as much as I had during our separation.

Did you think it was love at first sight?  For me, I’m sure it was. It started when we were children and never faded.

What do you like most about him?  Alex believes in me. He supports my dreams and goals. He helps push me ahead instead of holding me back.

How would you describe him?  Dark, brooding, serious, hard working, fun, exciting, sexy.

How would he describe you? Determined and hard-headed. Secretive too, I guess.

What made you choose farming as a profession?  I was taught to love the land as a child. When the kids came along, I had to make a living in a way that would allow me to keep them close by. They work as hard at it as I do now. 

What is your biggest fear? Losing all I’ve worked for: the land, my farm, and the lifestyle my kids know and love.

How do you relax? There’s not much time for that on a farm, but occasionally I get to soak in a warm bubble bath with a good book.

Who is your favorite fictional character and why? That’s easy, Hester Prynne from ‘The Scarlet Letter’. She was held in ridicule by her community, but she worked had to make a happy home for her child. I can relate to her quite well.

What is the best piece of advice you ever received? My father told me, many times, “Take care of the earth and it will take care of you”. That’s how my family has survived.

It’s Sandy’s turn in the hot seat. What movies or books have had an impact on your writing? I’m very eclectic with both books and movies, but when I need an escape, I look for humor and happy endings. That’s what I try to give my readers. In movies I like romantic comedy: “The Wedding Date” and “An American President” are among my favorites. My favorite Author is Lori Foster. She has the best heroes.

Tell us a bit about your publisher. How did you hear about them? What influenced your decision to submit to them? So far, I’ve published two books with The Wild Rose Press. I read a book they’d published that was much like the type I like to write.

Tell us a bit about the submission process. How long did it take from query to release?  I submitted a query, never thinking I’d hear from them. To my utter amazement, my editor replied within a month. That’s when the real work began; rewrites, edits, galleys, a contract, the cover art. The process took about ten months from beginning to end.

Veronica and I are so pleased to meet an exciting new author and this book in particular. Sandy’s story is the textbook picture of a struggling author and how she found her niche: she researched publishers who produced what she liked to read and went for it. She clearly studied her craft and developed the conflict we can all understand: the heroine, all alone, struggling to keep the farm [literally]. The “bad guy” steps in, trying to take the farm from her and her kids. Perfect. Simple. Realistic.

Buy it!!

 

To learn more about Sandra Dailey and the stories she creates go to:

http://www.sandradailey.blogspot.com

http://www.facebook.com/sandradailey.author

http://www.twitter.com/sdaileyauthor

To purchase Twice the Trouble, go to:

Amazon for kindle http://amzn.to/Wrxm6B

The Wild Rose Press http://bit.ly/10seHQa

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

