Wild Women Authors is pleased to welcome Silver James

BestLaidPlans_7497DearlyBeloved_680 Silver_300Kat asked me to post this for her.  (Photos will be uploaded later this evening.)

Wild Women Authors is pleased to welcome Silver James who brings wedding planner Claire Vitale, from “Best Laid Plans”, the latest release out of the Dearly Beloved series from Wild Rose Press. Welcome Silver and Claire.

Where are you from, Claire? Malibu, California

What is “Best Laid Plans” about? It’s is about opposites attracting and finding love the second time around.

What did you think the first time you saw Nicholas Grant, father of the bride? I figured him for a snob. But as his daughter’s wedding was to be the social event of the year…well, what can I say? First impressions can be…enlightening.

And your second thought? That he was an absolute control freak and I wasn’t going to let him ruin Laurel’s day. With her mother “out of the picture,” she needed an advocate to keep Nick from running roughshod over her and what she wanted.

This sounds like a fun story. Did you think it was love at first sight? Good heavens no! I wanted to slap the man up side the head. His demands bordered on the ridiculous and obsessive. I was ready to stand up to him to make sure Laurel’s wishes came true. Little did I know that he had designs on me.

What do you like most about Nicholas? Besides the control freak part, he’s dedicated, romantic, focused, handsome… And I think I just answered your next question, too. Nick Grant is a very rich man but underneath that facade is a warm, loving man.

How would you describe him? I suppose I should add that he’s a marvelous dancer, can charm the skin off a snake, and kisses like a man who knows how to please a woman.

Well, gee. How would this snake charmer describe you? Stubborn. I am. He wooed me relentlessly and I just couldn’t get it through my thick skull that he truly was falling in love with me. By that time, I was completely smitten and head over heels in love with him, if I hadn’t been so stubborn that I couldn’t admit it to myself.

What made you choose being a wedding planner as a career? That’s easy. I’m organized, creative, and by the time I was out of college, I’d been a maid of honor or bridesmaid so many times, I knew the process better than the brides. I went to work as a wedding dress consultant at a boutique, learned that side of the business, and then went out on my own. I’ve planned some of the most memorable weddings in the state. Do you have any weddings coming up in the family? Let me give you my card…just in case. Thanks, no. If we ever consider marriage again, we’d take it as the utmost of kindnesses if someone pulls out their .38 and blows our brains out. Heh heh. That said, what is your biggest fear, Claire? That Nick will wake up one morning and realize I’m not the woman he wants to spend the rest of his life with. He’ll tell me I’m silly but…I love him so much I can’t imagine growing old without him at my side.

How do you relax? Hot bubble baths. With a chilled ice wine. Or snuggling in with my wonderful man. Or both. At the same time.

Who is your favorite fictional character and why? Oh my. This is a tough question! I’m going to admit to sharing the character with my author. We’d both say Eve Dallas, from J.D. Robb’s “In Death” series. I admire Eve’s ability to overcome everything life throws at her and she’s loved by a wonderful man. While Nick isn’t as rich as Roarke, he’s *my* Roarke and I love him with my whole heart. But don’t tell him that.

Yep, we can go along with that one. Particularly the part about Roarke. Yum.

What is the best piece of advice you ever received? Something I read by MarkTwain: “Sing like no one’s listening, love like you’ve never been hurt, dance like nobody’s watching, and live like its heaven on earth.”

Now it’s Silver’s turn on the hot seat. What movies or books have had an impact on your writing? I grew up reading Mary Stewart and Ian Fleming, having graduated from the children’s section of the library when I was ten. While I always wanted to write, it wasn’t until I discovered JD Robb’s books that I decided I wanted to write for publication.

Tell us a bit about your publisher. How did you hear about them? I have several books and novellas published through the Wild Rose Press, and have self-published a series. I first heard of Wild Rose from an RWA chapter mate. She was an editor for them at the time and announced at the meeting they were accepting submissions.

Tell us a bit about the submission process. How long did it take from query to release? I sent the manuscript for my first novel, FAERIE FATE, to them, and bingo. Within a month, I had a contract. They have an easy submission process, listed on the website. My first MS went through the submission process quicker than some others–sheer luck–and from the time I signed the contract until release was about four months.

We’re so pleased that Silver was able to take the time to visit with us today. Remember! If you leave a comment, your name will go into a hat for a drawing to win a copy of “Best Laid Plans”.

To learn more about Silver James and the stories she creates go to: http://www.silverjames.com

To purchase BEST LAID PLANS (Dearly Beloved series), go to

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Best-Plans-Dearly-Beloved-ebook/dp/B00AU6UTUA

Wild Rose Press: http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=172_203&products_id=5158

ARebooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-bestlaidplans-1150472-149.html

Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/best-laid-plans-3

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

