How to Write Full Time

Finding myself with unlimited free time, I need to learn how to write consistently and on a full time basis. Most days I sleep in until I’m hungry. Definitely not a good sign.

How do I motivate myself? How do I sit still enough to get quality work done? I coming up with answers as I write this.

The first thing I’ll need to do is move my desk into the living room. That will get me up, dressed and out of my room. There’ll be no excuses to just sleep the day away.

Next I’m going to commit to a specific schedule during which I can write uninterrupted. The biggest interruption is letting myself get distracted. To this event, I’ll allow distractions only after a determined amount of time of non-stop writing. How else am I going to get the eight or so other books in my queue written.

So, my plan upon returning from Philly, is to move my desk, organised all my writing tools and jump right in and write! No distractions from the two kids living with me, one is only there every other week so it’ll be easier to implement the new rules. The other child is moving to Colorado at the end of August, so there’s one less distraction.

Then I’ve have to figure this out all over again, as when my son moves, we’ll have to downsize to a 2 bedroom apartment instead of the spacious three bedroom we have now. But no use worrying about that until the time comes.

This week I’m at my brother’s, and have the best place to sit and write to my heart’s content. For once, I’m taking advantage of it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “How to Write Full Time

  1. K.L. Gore

    Wish I could go…I missed it when she came to LCRW. 🙂

  2. K.L. Gore

    Whoops. That last comment was meant for Deb. Ha! Here’s the response to your post, Patti:

    Yes, one definitely needs to be motivated and feel organized to write. And have peace and quiet. Which right now I DO NOT HAVE because a neighbor boy is screaming at the Wii game on TV every few seconds, “Go! Go! Noooooooo! Ah…yeah, yeah, YEAH! Arghhhh…get the portal! Hey, stop that. Get outta there. No, you! Go! GO!”

    (Just now he yelled to the TV, “No more talking!” as if he’s reading my mind.)

    Here’s to hoping your writing time goes well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

