Now I Can Say I’m a (Self) Published Author

I bit the bullet. So hard, in fact, I made indentations in the metal. After years of hard work, I finally made my middle grade novel available to the masses. And on my own terms. How do I feel?

Relieved. Happy. Fulfilled. Freaked out of my ever-lovin’ mind. Why? Because now people will (hopefully) purchase my book and decide whether or not it was worth what they paid. And then they will let the world know in their reviews.

I know authors who say they never read reviews of their work. They don’t have the thick skin needed to deal with  negativity. Me? I don’t know yet. I might read them, I might not. Maybe no one will buy my book. Maybe no one will leave a review. So therefore, maybe I won’t have to know what people think.

But gosh darn it all, I sure will be curious! At any rate, I’m elated that I took the plunge. Got my feet wet. Okay, soaked myself silly. Because I’ve done what so many others have done, and I feel pretty good about it. Now it’s time for me to work on the next book in the series. Sure, I’ll work on the marketing aspect as well. But for me, I’ve already done the hard part.

I’ve written a book.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Now I Can Say I’m a (Self) Published Author

  1. Kim, you Go Girl!! Best of luck. (You never mentioned the name of the novel!)
    Joan

  2. K.L. Gore

    Thanks, Joan! The novel is Dr. Von Thistle’s Curious Concoction by K. G. Wehner (my MG alias). It’s part of my The Miss-Adventures of Amy & Tracy series. So everyone reading this…buy it for your Kindle or Nook (shameless promotion). 🙂

  3. Wow! What great news. (Now I get the chance to see if you used any of the comments I made during critiques. 🙂 ) I know you will be a very successful author and I can say I knew you when…

    • K.L. Gore

      Thanks, Steve! I believe I used most of your suggestions…and completely changed other passages because I knew I could make it better. Your help was invaluable, as usual.

Leave a Reply

