Write an extra 26 blog posts in April? Sure!

On April 2, I stumbled across the A – Z Blogging Challenge. I was already a day behind, but I decided to go for it.

A-Z BadgeIn a nutshell, the goal is to blog the alphabet throughout April. With the exception of April 1, Sundays are not blogging days. The rest of the month you’re expected to post daily. Everyone blogs the same letter on the same day. Themes are encouraged. Visiting other bloggers and commenting is expected. Some participants are blogging about places they’ve been (e.g., E is for Egypt). Some are choosing movies. Others are putting up poetry. And so on…

I’m sticking with a writing-writer theme since that’s what I usually post on my blog. At this point I’ve run through A – G.

With a stack of client work swaying in my inbox, my own blog schedule, crits I’ve agreed to, and – perhaps the most important – my WIP Door to Door’s (hopefully final) edit, why in the name of the blogging gods would I add 26 extra posts this month?

One, like LCRW group member Scott Paoni (who is also participating in the A – Z Challenge), I love a good challenge. It keeps me on my toes. It’s a little painful, but at the end, it’s going to feel great. It’s like when the last bit of bandage adhesive lets go of your skin after a long… slow… pull.

Oh relief.

But that’s only a small part of it. In all seriousness, folks, I’m participating in the blogging challenge because:

• I love to blog.
• I’m looking for new bloggers to follow (1,935 was the original A – Z participant number).
• I’m looking for other writer-Twitterers to follow. (I *love* Twitter.)
• I’ve picked up helpful writing advice from both published and not-yet-published writers.
• I’ve been entertained by several posts.
• I like looking at how others use words.
• The A – Z prompts force me to use a bit of my writing muscle every day while I’m in my WIP edit mode.
• By participating, new and known people are visiting and commenting on my blog – which is so dang cool.
• And finally, it’s nice to be a part of a community.

I only started sharing my writing in 2011. I’ve missed out on a lot of past opportunities to learn from other writers. I also missed out on a lot of opportunities to offer up my own stories. Using blogging as a way to make connections with others has been a big part of my “coming of age.” I’m grateful for this medium.

This is my first post for the LCRW group. I met some of you in the February and March meetings. I look forward to connecting with the rest. And, I look forward to future blogging opportunities here too.

If any other group members are participating in the A – Z Blogging Challenge, please stop by my blog Write On! and share your link in a comment. I’d love to come visit you.

~ Tracy

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Write an extra 26 blog posts in April? Sure!

  1. Pingback: On writing part 2 | Bell Book Candle

  2. Steve

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. With all your blogs, no one will notice that Steve has gone a month between blogs. 🙂 Nice blog and welcome to the group.

  3. jillelizabethadmin

    I am truly impressed – I can barely manage my self-imposed three blog posts per week on top of the *real* writing, and I don’t even have a *real* job! 🙂

  4. K.L. Gore

    Wow! I’m impressed. Looks like you’re making up for lost time as far as learning from other writers and sharing your stories goes. Good for you! I will not take on this challenge because, like my failed Nanowrimo attempts, I know I could not possibly do it and remain sane. (Some would argue I’m not sane to begin with…) Good luck! Though it doesn’t sound like you’ll need it. 🙂

    • Actually, I’ll take the good luck wishes! 😀 It’s been a challenge to keep up. Whew.

      I’ve made some great, new “blogger friends” by participating. It’s been worth it, but I’m glad it’s almost over. 😉

  5. Wow, I don’t think I could do 26 blog posts in a month. I bow to you, and look forward to meeting you, Tracy!

    • It’s been a long month, that’s for sure! I’ll take a break come May (except for the weekly stuff). I look forward to meeting you too, Lisa. I’m planning on attending on Saturday, will you be there?

  6. Pingback: Followerpower/ Followerkraft | phoenixrisesagain

Leave a Reply

