Supporting Fellow Authors

I admit, I am likely the biggest offender of what I am about to rally the flag around, but will step into the ring and take my licks.

Lately, as Kat Henry Doran I’ve participated in a number of blogs, promoting my newest release, Mad Dog and the Archangel. With each blog, I notified LCRW members via the email loop, inviting all to stop by and say hey, maybe get in the running to win a prize. The response was cool at best. That’s okay; I’m not the coolest nor kindest of people and I’ll never win Miss Congeniality [though I do want world peace].

More important to me however is First Timers Presents. This is my recurring blog which features first time authors.

I decided to launch it after an LCRW meeting last fall where I happened to sit beside a newly published author in our group who exhibited signs of loss, helplessness and all around needing a hand to guide her when it came to promoting her new book. I suggested she start with the writers loops she belongs to. To which she responded, “Good luck with that, I can’t get support face to face support from LCRW members at a meeting, how can I hope to find it anywhere else?”

As we used to say back in the day . . . color me embarrassed.

After I was lucky enough to be first published in 2004, I received a great deal of support from Kathryn Shay, and members of my two other writers groups [Maine Romance Writers and Liberty States Fiction Writers]. They offered great suggestions on promotions, what to consider, what traps to avoid. Listening to this new author, I thought, ‘you jerk, why aren’t you doing more for her and other new authors?’

First Timers Presents first saw the light of day in September 2011. Since that date, we’ve promoted 15–20 new authors, two of whom are members of LCRW. The usual notifications went out to the loop.

How many LCRW members commented on the blog, wished many sales, said ‘hi, great cover, terrific premise, super blurb or excerpt?

I shall go back for the exact count but I’m willing to guess the number is TWO.

I’m doing my part to promote our authors. What are you doing? Even if you don’t care for erotica or historical romance, you can wish them good luck. Maybe money is tight these days so you are embarrassed you cannot buy her book. So what? In this day an age of anonymous purchases on Amazon, the authors won’t know. They will remember you wishing them luck. These women are part of us. They’ve worked just as we all have.

Give them a round of applause, a hug, a pat on the back, a comment on the blog that says, ‘you go, girl’.

Veronica Lynch

3 Comments

Filed under Prompting, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Supporting Fellow Authors

  1. Veronica, you are so right. I am guilty of reading the posts and announcements and not leaving comments. Many times I’m using a device that prevents me from doing so. Therefore, I’ve made a commitment to myself to get on the laptop daily and go through all my contacts, posts, etc. and start leaving comments, sharing through Facebook and ‘like’ing the posts to help spread the word.

    Patti Mann

  2. say

    I have to admit to being shocked that LCRW failed in such a dramatic way. Supporting and mentoring new writers is the stated goal of the group. In addition to the guest speakers, it is one of the reasons I joined the group. If I have failed in supporting a new writer I want that to be brought to attention. To that writer, my deepest apologies.

  3. Steve

    And now, over a month and four new blogs later, there has been only one comment to a blog. You would think that the person who was not getting the support s/he thought they should would have posted a few comments.

Leave a Reply

