What is your New Year’s Writing Resolution?

I don’t have one…yet. I could say it’s to write more often, but I don’t think I could do that without neglecting the house and kids, not to mention my health. I could say it’s to become a published author…but that’s dependent on factors out of my control, unless I self-publish. So I could say it’s to self-publish…but again, that’s dependent on factor number one: writing more often.

What’s a writer to do?

Here is my resolution for the resolution: I am going to do my best, spend less time networking and more time studying and practicing  the craft. I will leave my comfort zone and explore new forms of literature, whether it be by reading it or writing it. I will give writing advice only when asked, and only if the person on the receiving end truly wants to hear it. I will write what I love, even if I know it is not marketable, and enjoy it. I will remind myself that success is not seeing my work in print, but the feeling of accomplishment that comes with doing my best.

How about you?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What is your New Year’s Writing Resolution?

  1. Ah, the dreaded Resolution… what joy is mine. I decided a long time ago to not make any or adhere to them, but considering that this is in regards to my next adventure, I guess I better make one, eh?

    For me, like everyone else it is making time to hone my craft. I could blame time constraints or life. I know the truth and it is time to face it. Procrastination is my frenemy.

    “You can do it tomorrow, ” I tell myself and before I know it a week has gone by. Sad, I am quite aware…but it is something I am desperately trying to work on.

    Every year, I tell myself it will be different. My calendar is overrun with “complete by” or “send out by” guidelines. One small problem though. The word guideline comes attached with a very loose definition to me. What should have been completed by next week might mean next month. 🙂 Oops.

    So this year I have decided the madness ends now. I will stick to my dates no matter what- starting whenever I feel like it or maybe I should just stick to next year.

  2. K.L. Gore

    Ha! Yes, procrastination and I go way back. If only we didn’t need to sleep, imagine how much we’d accomplish! Thanks for sharing your goal.

Leave a Reply

